a Legacy

First I want to say thank you to a dear friend that taught our Sunday School class yesterday. No matter how outgoing I may appear, it is sometimes difficult to put yourself out there (even in cyberspace) and make your thoughts open to any and everyone, and the fact that people are reading and being touched by this blog, even though I shouldn’t need validation, it is nice to know I can make a small difference.

Ok, on to today’s topic. I spent most of this past weekend playing with my kids on two beautiful days. A lot of time spent outside. It brought to mind one of my very favorite songs, Legacy, by Nicole Nordeman. As I was putting Sean to bed the other night, I realized we must be doing something right. I told him to say his prayer and he said the run of the mill, Now I lay me down to sleep… and then after asking God to bless his mom and dad and Phil, he just started carrying on a conversation with God. That my 6 year old child is comfortable enough with God and gets the concept that praying is just talking to God and telling him your worries and asking for forgiveness, it touched me. So for today, I wanna leave a legacy, that through my actions, those who are around can be better, they can see the difference that has been made in my life. My children are my legacy, and how I raise them is a true reflection of the type of person I am, good and bad (just ask anyone about Phil’s temper). May I and other parents have the strength to leave a legacy…

Legacy – Nicole Nordeman

I don’t mind if you’ve got something nice to say about me
And I enjoy an accolade like the rest
You could take my picture and hang it in a gallery
Of all who’s who and so-n-so’s that used to be the best
At such’n’such … it wouldn’t matter much

I won’t lie, it feels alright to see your name in lights
We all need an ‘Atta boy’ or ‘Atta girl’
But in the end I’d like to hang my hat on more besides
The temporary trappings of this world

I want to leave a legacy
How will they remember me?
Did I choose to love? Did I point to You enough
To make a mark on things?
I want to leave an offering
A child of mercy and grace who
blessed your name unapologetically
And leave that kind of legacy

I don’t have to look too far or too long awhile
To make a lengthly list of all that I enjoy
It’s an accumulating trinket and a treasure pile
Where moth and rust, thieves and such will soon enough destroy

Not well traveled, not well read, not well-to-do or well bred
Just want to hear instead, “Well Done” good and faithful one…

Leave a Reply

