Focus

OK, so yesterday I had to stop by the pharmacy and pick up a prescription, and it wasn’t ready when I got there, so I waited. Well, anyone that has ever lived near Windsor knows, if you can’t find what you are looking for, go to Windsor Pharmacy. It is really a great shop, family owned, just a neat place, and if you have time to browse, go for it, treasures abound. While waiting, I looked at the books and found the One Minute Pocket Bible for women. Well, you see, any book that says one minute automatically catches my eye. Having two small children I have absolutely no free time and it is a daily struggle for me to find time to spend on devotions. So I bought it. Probably the best use of $5 I have used in a long time. Flipping through it, it basically lays out several topics, and then gives 4 -6 scriptures that relate to each topic. A very handy thing indeed. The quote for today is:

“Go to the ant, you sluggard! Consider her ways and be wise, which, having no captain, overseer or ruler, provides her supplies in the summer, and gathers her food in the harvest.” Proverbs 6:6-8

Hmmm, as someone who has a very hard time focusing at work (as evidenced by the fact I am writing this) this verse hit home. I am going to keep this short… Do your work, focus and get it done well, and quickly. In all work you do, whether it be at your job or at home or in the church, don’t dawdle, just do it. The ant didn’t need the boss hanging over his shoulder to get things done, and you shouldn’t either. In an economy such as we have today, where cuts are being made everywhere, if you take this to heart, it will be noticed and appreciated by those around you. So for now, I am going to make a commitment to be more focused on my work and get things done. Once you “git r done” you will have more time to do other things as well. As I often tell my 6 year old, the time you have spent whining about this, you could have already been finished. So go forward, try to quit procrastinating, get your tasks done, and may God bless your work.

Till next time…

Leave a Reply

