Colossians 3:13 Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.

Ok, so no big intro today, everyone is good, we are all well and happy. On to the above. http://www.christianity.com has this neat bible study site that has a random scripture generator. This was in the scripture it generated for me today. This is sooooo hard for me. Not only does it say forgive, but bear with each other. This may seem difficult, but if we really forgive, should it be? I know the concept of forgive and forget comes up often, should we forgive and act as if nothing happened? Some may say yes, but isn’t that the same as not taking the time and energy to learn from past mistakes? Oh, I hit my thumb with a hammer, I forgive the hammer, forget it and do it again next time? Or next time I am a little more careful and a little more guarded with my thumb? Sure I have to use the hammer again, so I have to bear with the hammer, but I don’t necessarily need to forget that I smashed my thumb last time and the potential for it to happen again. (I know it is a lot easier to relate this to a hammer than a person, but bear with me (no pun intended) and I may actually get to a point) This verse comes from a passage that was called Rules for Holy Living. I have over the years in many different religions heard many things about forgiveness. I personally think that forgiveness is more for the person forgiving than that being forgiven. Yes there may be peace of mind for the receiver to know that forgiveness has been given, but think about it. We relate a grudge to a cancer, it starts small, but without acknowledgment and action it can quickly fester and grow into something monstrous and scary. Personally, it is not easy to forgive and let things go, and I know I can hold a grudge. But sometimes you just have to sit back and think, what am I accomplishing for me or anyone around me by being upset about this? or angry? Where I work most people get to the point that they say “It is what it is” and when you think about it, you have no control over what others are doing, only how you let it affect you and your life.. so why spend any more time than is necessary on things that in the grand scheme of things matter very little? For me personally, with the trials and tribulations of the last 2 years in our family, I have learned there are 4 important things in my life, God, Thomas, Sean and Phil. The rest is stuff. Do I love others? Of course, my extended family means the world to me, but when it comes down to it, those 4 are what really at the core matters. Do I still get upset about stuff? Do I still have grudges? ABSOLUTELY.. however the difference I think is that I am starting to realize them quicker and realize the difference in when I say I forgive something and when I actually do. When I quick letting the small stuff get to me and bother me, I am learning I am a much happier me.

Leave a Reply

